Success

Gratitude & Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving (Happy Columbus Day, for my American friends). Every year on Thanksgiving I write about what I am grateful for this year. Why? Gratitude is one of the eleven key behaviours that support happiness, according to Sonya Lubermirsky, a researcher in the area of positive psychology.

I am thankful for my family, especially my niece and nephew, who bring such joy to my life. I am thankful for my friends, who put up with me when they don’t have to (unlike my family, who are stuck with me). I am thankful for a job that challenges me, which lets me do cool things with my time.

I’m thankful that I live in a country that has bounty, in natural resources, affluence, and turkeys. I’m thankful for the table groaning with food on Thanksgiving day, when many do not have enough. I’m thankful that I live in a country that has produced Alice Munro and Margaret Atwood. Love them or hate them, they challenge you to think. I’m thankful that I live in a country where we care about others, and just a little bit less about how to make money. I’m thankful that I live in a country where women can drive, get an education, a job, and where they can lead others without fear of being raped, shot or thrown into jail.

I’m grateful for beautiful, peaceful, sunny fall days, walking through the woods. I’m grateful for the fall colours.

What are you grateful for? If we focus on what we have, rather than what we don’t have, we are happier.

Categories: Success

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

