Leadership

A Worthwhile Leadership Reflection

In response to my recent post on the Four Personalities of Creativity, one of my friends, the restauranteur, posted this response.

The key is to recognize which one you are and have the courage and rigour to surround yourself with the other players…easier said than done……

And my friend is right, it is a tough thing to do to have a deep understanding of yourself, your strengths and your weaknesses.  But there are tools out there to help you.  One of my favourite tools is the VIA Strengths Characteristics tool, developed by Martin Seligman at the University of Pennsylvania. 

When I took the test, love of learning, judgement, critical thinking and open-mindedness, and creativity were all my signature strengths.  I was weak on caution, prudence, teamwork and humility.  I’m sure none of this was a surprise to any of my family and friends.   According to my innovation personalities,  I’m an Artist and a Judge.  I can be a Warrior, but I’m a terrible Accountant.

Knowing these things can help you develop a strategy to use your strengths and offset your weaknesses in an organizational setting.

So if you’re interested in understanding your strengths better, take Dr. Seligman’s test.  Keep in mind, that this test is self-reported, so it will represent what you think your strengths are, not how others see you.

And when you’re done taking the test, think about what this means for your behaviour.  How do you plan to optimize your strengths and develop your weaknesses? What does that mean for how you work with others?

Leave a Reply

