Hard Work

The Nature of Thought

Thinking is hard work. It has taken me a very long time to learn this lesson. I used to imagine an idea and voila, it was a complete thought. But over time, I’ve learned that my immediate thoughts are anything but complete. So this blog is meant to be a place to think, share, evolve and revise ideas. It is a gathering and synthesis of thoughts from random sources of information.

The ideas that seem to intrigue me are about what, how and why people behave in specific ways, whether about decision making, how we adopt new products or ideas, how ideas spread, or how we treat each other.  These ideas endlessly fascinate me.  Some of these thoughts apply to what I do for a living. Some of them are little known but useless trivia (LKBUT) but they grab me and won’t let go. So, rather than endlessly boring my students with my latest insight, I’m going to blog about them.

This blog isn’t intended to provide great pronouncements or judgments. This is largely because it has also taken me a long time to realize that I don’t know more than I know. But I truly love to think, question and talk (not necessarily in that order).  I enjoy debating and sharing ideas. And so, this is the beginning of my personal effort to engage — both myself and others in the joy of thinking.

Categories: Hard Work

Leave a Reply

