4 replies »

  1. And the beat goes on! Or should I say the gender war.
    You present two options to women as if that is it. I would suggest that your thinking is stuck back in the 1950′s and your two options are “June Cleaver” or “Tug Boat Annie”. Not much to look forward to in either case. Lower level management or loose cannon doesn’t give much of an optimistic outlook for the future of women of 2012 and beyond.

    Over the past five decades I’ve worked for both women and men and the only difference I’ve found is that one is female and the other is male. Both have been people to respect and both have been tyrants. The similarities, however, run deeper than the differences. Those similarities were simple. The ones I respected did the best that they knew how with every skill and talent that they possessed. The tyrants were no different as they used every back stabbing, under handed, two faced trick in their skill and talent bag to accomplish their goals.

    There is one major difference and this is not gender. The difference is that each was an individual with his or her outlook on the job they had to perform. When dealt with as an individual instead of “Just a man” or “Just a woman” then navigating their eccentricities became manageable. It really didn’t matter if they owned, were CEO, managed, supervised or married you, they simply came down to being an individual person who has no other clone to be compared with.

    Equality at the top is as desirable as equality at the bottom. We aren’t there yet because we’re too busy dividing ourselves into two enemy camps. When two aren’t sufficient we have organizations that divide us into many other categories to make sure we know who we are not and who should be entitled. Equality at CEO level? Not gonna happen until we lose the ever present, magnified, glorified, propagandized differences.

    And the beat goes on.

  2. I believe that skotia407 makes a very solid point, I am a woman who rose from the ranks to a Director in the IT organization whose clients were old oil and gas, and city and state governments. I never wanted to be CEO, so didn’t shoot for that in my goals.

    I have certainly seen and been told directly that my bumpy bits lead to misperceptions about my intellect and skills, and some of them were managers in my company. In the early days of my career VP of HR would bring people by my office on the tour and say “This is our woman programmer”. But all in all I find that corporations and my male counterparts have matured and as more women entered IT the socalization about the women in the business evolved. Nothing is perfect but talent is talent.

    • Actually, the research shows that talent is not talent. Researchers have used identical resumes only changing the name/gender of the applicant. Typically the female applicants are rated as less appropriate for the position, less powerful and at a lower level of compensation than the male candidates with identical resumes. And get this, the people doing the rating are both male and female, and both the men and the women rate the female candidates lower on these attributes.

      This bias isn’t one that we are aware of on the surface, but it does exist. I do agree that as more women enter the workforce this should change, but beware, women have been in the workforce in significant numbers for over 30 years. While their are some exceptions, it appears that there are some hardwired biases that may be causing limitations. Check out Alice Egaly’s video on the glass ceiling.

      http://bigthink.com/ideas/24517

      • Oh it does exist and I don’t deny that. In the company mentioned that dealt with oil and gas and governmente, I got in a bit of a quandry as a female director (the highest ranked female in the IT department/services) at that time. Several women in the department requested trasfer to my competency center, and if I recommended a woman be hired there were concerns about a bias on my part.

        Alasm there was none my group was 80+% men the entire time I was working. I hired on the talent principle.

        A

Leave a Reply

